What Are Nevada Traffic Laws You Should Know?
Are you new to Nevada? If you are driving in the Silver State you may wonder what Nevada traffic laws you should know. Below we will discuss some of these laws.
We hope this article helps you stay safe on Nevada roads. However, even the safest driver can be injured in a car accident. If you are the victim in a car accident, seek legal help from an experienced personal injury lawyer. The law firm of Anthem Injury Lawyers has a dedicated team of lawyers and staff ready to help you with your personal injury case. We can come to you in the Las Vegas area, should you be unable to visit us at our office. Contact us at (702) 857-6000 to schedule an appointment for a free consultation.
For a free legal consultation, call (702) 857-6000
Do Not Use Cell Phones While Driving
In response to the dangers of distracted driving, states passed laws to prevent drivers from texting and driving. In Nevada, it is a crime to physically handle a cell phone or other electronic device while driving.
Under Nevada Revised Statute (NRS) 484B.165 it is illegal to do any of the following while driving:
- Manually type or enter text into a cellular telephone or other handheld wireless communications device.
- Send or read data using any such device to access or search the Internet or to engage in nonvoice communications with another person. This includes texting, electronic messaging, and instant messaging.
- Use a cellular telephone or other handheld wireless communications device to engage in voice communications with another person. Unless the device is used with an accessory which allows the person to communicate without using his or her hands.
If a distracted driver injures you in a car accident, contact an experienced personal injury lawyer. Anthem Injury Lawyers is a team of experienced, dedicated personal injury lawyers and case managers. We will work aggressively to defend your rights and get you just compensation. Time is of the essence. Get in touch with our Las Vegas car accident lawyers immediately so we have maximum time to pursue the compensation you deserve. Learn more about how our experienced lawyers can help you gain the best opportunity to win maximum compensation for injuries sustained in your Las Vegas car accident. Contact us today at (702) 857-6000 to make an appointment for a free consultation.
Move Over for Traffic Incidents
Move over laws are meant to keep everyone on the road safe and, in part, prevent struck-by incidents. Nevada’s move over law applies to a motorist approaching any sort of traffic incident. Under the law, the motorist must:
- Slow to less than the posted speed limit.
- Move to a non-adjacent lane.
- Be prepared to stop.
The Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles notes that this law now applies when approaching vehicles displaying non-flashing blue lights in the back.
Click to contact our personal injury lawyers today
Use Seat Belts and Child Safety Seats
Buckling up is the single most effective thing you can do to protect yourself in a crash. Twenty-two percent of Nevada’s total fatalities are unbelted. Nevada law requires everyone to be properly restrained.
- Under NRS 484D.495, any driver or passenger over 6 years old or 60 pounds must wear a safety belt.
- NRS 484B.157 requires a child under 6 years old and less than 60 pounds to be secured in an approved child restraint system. For additional information, see our article on Car Seat Safety.
If your child has been the victim in a Nevada accident involving a potentially faulty car seat, you’ll want to contact Anthem Injury Lawyers. With over 25 years of experience, we proudly serve Las Vegas and vicinity. While some people may tell you that a car accident attorney is not necessary, through years of experience dealing with insurance companies, we know differently. The best opportunity to gain maximum compensation comes from an experienced car accident legal team. Contact us today at (702) 857-6000 to make an appointment for a free consultation.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
Do Not Leave Children or Pets Unattended in Vehicles
In Nevada, it is illegal to leave your children or pets unattended in your vehicle. The below laws are meant to protect the health and safety of children and pets.
Under NRS 202.485, it is illegal to leave a child 7 years old or younger unattended in a motor vehicle if:
- The conditions present a significant risk to the health and safety of the child; or
- The engine of the motor vehicle is running or the keys to the vehicle are in the ignition,
unless the child is being supervised by and within the sight of a person who is at least 12 years of age.
Under NRS 202.487:
- It is illegal to leave a pet unattended in a motor vehicle if conditions present a significant risk to the pet’s health and safety. This includes extreme heat or cold.
Understand Nevada Teen Driving Laws
Do you have a teenager? If so, it is important to understand Nevada teen driving laws. The Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles has an entire page on Nevada Teen Driving. Consult the Nevada DMV for the most up-to-date laws. Help your teen stay safe by ensuring they comply with all applicable laws. Remember, teens have passenger restrictions and a curfew.
Except for immediate family members, young drivers may not transport any passenger under the age of 18. This restriction is for the first six months after the DMV issues the license.
Statewide Driving Curfew
A driver under 18 may not drive between the hours of 10 p.m. and 5 a.m. An exception exists for a driver traveling to or from a scheduled event. This may include school events or work.
We understand that even the most cautious driver can still be involved in an accident. If your teen is injured in a Las Vegas car accident through no fault of their own, you need an experienced personal injury lawyer. A personal injury lawyer can help them get maximum compensation for their injuries. Ensure your teen driver has the best Las Vegas car accident lawyers: contact the experienced team at Anthem Injury Lawyers at (702) 857-6000 to make an appointment for a free consultation.
Do Not Speed
In Nevada, speed is a major contributing factor to driver, pedestrian, and bicyclist fatalities, accounting for 33.1 percent of all traffic fatalities. Under NRS 484B.600, it is unlawful to drive a vehicle at:
- A rate of speed greater than is reasonable or proper. Having due regard for the traffic, surface and width of the highway, the weather and other highway conditions.
- Such a rate of speed as to endanger the life, limb or property of any person.
- A rate of speed greater than that posted by a public authority for the particular portion of highway being traversed.
- A rate of speed that results in the injury of another person or of any property.
- In any event, a rate of speed greater than 80 miles per hour.
If a speeding driver injures you or a loved one, consult with an experienced personal injury lawyer. Anthem Injury Lawyers are an experienced team of personal injury lawyers. Our office is in Henderson, and we handle personal injury cases in Las Vegas and vicinity. Contact us today at (702) 857-6000 to make an appointment for a free consultation.
Stop for School Buses
Did you know that children are at an increased risk when approaching or leaving a school bus? Drivers should stay alert and proceed with caution around school buses. By law, Nevada drivers have to stop for school buses. Per NRS 484B.353, all drivers are required to stop for school buses when:
- Students are boarding and departing.
- The bus is displaying its flashing red lights.
Please note that on divided highways with a median or other physical barrier, traffic moving in the opposite direction does not have to stop.
If you or your child has been the victim in a bus accident, you should seek legal advice from an experienced bus accident lawyer. The experienced team at Anthem Injury Lawyers can help you protect your rights and help you get the personal injury settlement that you deserve. Contact us today at (702) 857-6000 to make an appointment for a free consultation.
Impaired driving is the number one cause of motor vehicle crashes, injuries, and fatalities. In Nevada, it is illegal to drive under the influence of alcohol or controlled or prohibited substances, including marijuana.
Drunk and impaired driving accidents are preventable accidents. The driver who chooses to get behind the wheel while impaired by alcohol or drugs is acting illegally. Drunk drivers cause serious injuries. Our lawyers aggressively seek maximum compensation for victims.
Have you been injured by an impaired driver in the Las Vegas area? It is important to work with a Las Vegas lawyer who can manage all the issues involved in a complex car accident case. Anthem Injury Lawyers have experienced car accident lawyers who are ready to help you. Contact us today at (702) 857-6000 to make an appointment for a free consultation. If you are seriously injured, we can come to you to provide a free case review.
EXPERIENCED LAS VEGAS PERSONAL INJURY LAWYERS
We hope these laws help you stay safe on Nevada roads. If a car accident injures you or a loved one, you should speak with an experienced personal injury lawyer. A personal injury lawyer will work aggressively to protect your rights and help you receive maximum compensation.
You need a highly skilled legal team to represent your interests in your Las Vegas car accident case. Award-winning personal injury law firm Anthem Injury Lawyers is a team of experienced, dedicated personal injury lawyers. We are based in Henderson, Nevada and serve clients throughout the Las Vegas area. With over 25 years of experience, Anthem Injury Lawyers specializes in personal injury claims. Please note: Insurance companies are not motivated to pay you the compensation you deserve. It is through aggressive representation by our experienced car accident lawyers that you have the best opportunity to gain just compensation. Contact us today at (702) 857-6000 to make an appointment for a free consultation.
Call or text (702) 857-6000 or complete a Free Case Evaluation form