In Nevada alone, 22 percent of the total car fatalities are unbelted. Wearing a seat belt is the single most effective thing you can do to protect yourself in a crash. This is your reminder to buckle up every time you get behind the wheel. You should also ensure that your passengers buckle up and that your younger passengers are properly restrained. Choosing to not wear a seat belt is both dangerous and illegal. Keep reading as we go over Nevada seat belt laws for passengers both young and old.
We hope the below information reminds you to buckle up. If another driver injures you in a car accident, contact an experienced personal injury lawyer. A personal injury lawyer will help to protect your rights and ensure you receive maximum compensation.
As a Las Vegas accident victim, you don’t want to fight alone against insurance companies. They do not have your best interests in mind. Anthem Injury Lawyers has a dedicated team of lawyers and staff ready to help you with your personal injury case. Insurance companies and other parties are not interested in helping you receive what you should as a victim in a Las Vegas accident. Your Las Vegas personal injury lawyer should have a proven track record of winning cases like yours for significant compensation. Our lawyers offer you 25 years of experience winning top compensation for Las Vegas accident victims.
Time is of the essence when pursuing compensation in accident cases. Don’t delay—have our Las Vegas accident lawyers review your case. Sometimes people avoid contacting an accident lawyer because they worry about cost. You don’t have to worry about affordability. Our attorneys don’t get paid unless they win your case. Contact Anthem Injury Lawyers at (702) 857-6000 to make an appointment for a free consultation.
Nevada Revised Statute 484B.157
Our children are our most precious passengers. The Nevada legislature is trying to keep children safe with revisions to existing laws. Nevada Revised Statute 484B.157 was revised last year and its changes went into effect on January 1, 2022. Under the revised law, any child less than 6 years of age who is less than 57 inches tall must ride in an approved child restraint system. Additionally, children under 2 years old must ride in a rear-facing safety seat in the back seat of the vehicle.
Under the previous law, children under 6 years old and less than 60 pounds were required to be in an approved child restraint system. Under the revised law, weight is no longer a factor.
We want you and your children to be safe. If you want to learn more about car seats, check out our article Are You Car Seat Smart?
Nevada Revised Statute 484D.495
Nevada Revised Statute 484D.495 provides Nevada’s safety belt requirements. It requires that cars be equipped with safety belts and that passengers wear safety belts. Sections 1, 2, and 3 of Nevada Revised Statute 484D.495 provide as follows:
- It is unlawful to drive a passenger car manufactured after:
- January 1, 1968, on a highway unless it is equipped with at least two lap-type safety belt assemblies for use in the front seating positions.
- January 1, 1970, on a highway unless it is equipped with a lap-type safety belt assembly for each permanent seating position for passengers. This requirement does not apply to the rear seats of vehicles operated by a police department or sheriff’s office.
- January 1, 1970, unless it is equipped with at least two shoulder-harness-type safety belt assemblies for use in the front seating positions.
- Any person driving, and any passenger who:
- Is 6 years of age or older; or
- Is 57 inches taller or more, regardless of age,
who rides in the front or back seat of any vehicle described in subsection 1, having an unladen weight of less than 10,000 pounds, on any highway, road or street in this State shall wear a safety belt if one is available for the seating position of the person or passenger.
- A citation must be issued to any driver or to any adult passenger who fails to wear a safety belt as required by subsection 2. If the passenger is a child who:
- Is 6 years of age or older but less than 18 years of age, regardless of height; or
- Is less than 6 years of age but is 57 inches tall or more,
a citation must be issued to the driver for failing to require that child to wear the safety belt, but if both the driver and that child are not wearing safety belts, only one citation may be issued to the driver for both violations. A citation may be issued pursuant to this subsection only if the violation is discovered when the vehicle is halted or its driver arrested for another alleged violation or offense. Any person who violates the provisions of subsection 2 shall be punished by a fine of not more than $25 or by a sentence to perform a certain number of hours of community service.
Nevada Revised Statute 484D.500
Did you know that you have to wear a seat belt even when you are in a taxicab? Section 1 of Nevada Revised Statute 484D.500 requires the following:
Any passenger 18 years of age or older who rides in the front or back seat of any taxicab on any highway, road or street in this State shall wear a safety belt if one is available for the seating position of the passenger.
The statute includes exceptions as well. Notably, for passengers who have a medical or physical reason for not wearing the seat belt. Those individuals must provide a doctor’s note. There is also an exception for taxicabs that were “not required by federal law at the time of initial sale to be equipped with safety belts.”
The rest of the statute includes penalties as well as the requirement that the owner or operator of the taxicab post a sign in the vehicle about the safety belt requirement.
EXPERIENCED LAS VEGAS PERSONAL INJURY LAWYERS
We hope the above discussion helps you remember to buckle up. If a Las Vegas driver injures you in a car accident, you should speak with an experienced personal injury lawyer. Some people wonder why they need a personal injury lawyer to help them. A personal injury lawyer will work aggressively to protect your rights and help you receive maximum compensation for your injuries.
Award-winning law firm Anthem Injury Lawyers is a team of experienced and dedicated personal injury lawyers. We are based in Henderson, Nevada, and serve clients throughout the Las Vegas area. When we say we offer personal injury law experience, we mean over 25 years of experience. This is the combination of knowledge and expertise you need to win significant compensation as a victim in a Las Vegas area accident. Our decades of experience, our expertise, plus our deep familiarity with all aspects of Nevada law, give you a powerful advantage. You will need that advantage to fight against those who may keep you from receiving what you deserve as a Las Vegas accident victim.
Your choice of an accident lawyer is one of the most consequential decisions you will ever make. It’s important to select a Las Vegas attorney that can put you in the best position to win your case. That’s why you need to speak with Anthem Injury Lawyers. Get the best accident attorneys in Las Vegas fighting for you. Our experts offer you the best opportunity to win top compensation. Contact Anthem Injury Lawyers today at (702) 857-6000 to make an appointment for a free consultation.
Last updated Wednesday, November 29th, 2023