Most states require car owners to maintain car insurance. Usually, they require at least a specified minimum coverage for bodily injury and property damages. However, every state has different limits. Some states also require car owners to carry uninsured coverage or personal injury insurance.
Because each state’s minimum auto insurance requirement is different, it’s important to verify the requirements of your new state when you move from one state to another.
Nevada Car Insurance Coverage Requirements
If you own a car and live in the State of Nevada, you are required to maintain a minimum automobile liability insurance policy of:
- $25,000 for bodily injury or death of one person in any one accident;
- $50,000 for bodily injury or death of two or more persons in any one accident; and
- $20,000 for injury to or destruction of property of others in any one accident (property damage liability).
Your insurance company must be authorized to do business in the State of Nevada.
For a free legal consultation, call (702) 857-6000
Nevada LIVE Program
The Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles validates the insurance coverage of every vehicle registered in Nevada on a continual basis. This helps keep uninsured motorists off the road. Nevada LIVE verification applies only to liability coverage. Comprehensive coverage, collision coverage, uninsured motorist coverage, and other coverage is not reported to the DMV.
The LIVE program requires you to present evidence of Nevada Auto Insurance coverage on a printed card or on a mobile device to register your vehicle. Proof of insurance must also be presented at most registration transactions: first-time, renewals, reinstatement and license plate changes. Your insurance card must be carried in your vehicle at all times and presented to any law enforcement officer upon request.
If your policy number changes and/or the insurance company name changes, you must report the change to the DMV as soon as possible. You can use the Online Update tool. You or your agent need to report the following insurance information:
- The insurance company’s name
- The policy number
- The effective date
- The termination or expiration date
Nevada has no grace period. Even a one day lapse in your insurance coverage can result in a suspension of your registration. The minimum penalty is a $251 reinstatement fee.
Experienced Las Vegas Personal Injury Lawyers
If you or a loved one has been in a car accident, you should speak with an experienced personal injury attorney who can help you protect your rights.
If you are looking for a law firm with experienced car accident attorneys, contact Anthem Injury Lawyers today. Our phone number is (702) 857-6000. We offer Free Consultations.
Call or text (702) 857-6000 or complete a Free Case Evaluation form