Do You Know the Nevada Hit and Run Accident Laws?
Being a victim in a car accident can be a difficult experience. It becomes even more challenging when the accident involves a hit and run driver. A hit and run driver, if caught, can face severe criminal penalties. In Nevada, drivers have certain responsibilities after an accident. Below we will discuss these dangerous crashes and the applicable Nevada hit and run accident laws.
If a hit and run driver injures you, seek medical help immediately. Once you have sought medical care, seek legal help from a personal injury lawyer. The law firm of Anthem Injury Lawyers has a dedicated team of lawyers and staff ready to help you with your personal injury case. Our car accident lawyers have represented many Las Vegas area clients who have become victims in accidents through no fault of their own. We aggressively fight for our clients to receive the maximum compensation they deserve for their injuries. Contact us today at (702) 857-6000 to make an appointment for a free consultation.
For a free legal consultation, call (702) 857-6000
What Is a Hit and Run Accident?
A hit and run accident occurs when at least one person involved in a crash does either of the following:
- Flees the scene before offering any (or sufficient) information or aid to the other involved person(s).
- Fails to properly report the crash.
A hit and run violation is a criminal offense.
Hit and Run Statistics
According to the AAA Foundation for Traffic Safety, a hit and run crash happens every minute on American roads. AAA researchers examined common characteristics of hit and run crashes and found the following:
- Since 2006, an average of 682,000 hit and run crashes occurred each year.
- Nearly 65 percent of people killed in hit and run crashes were pedestrians or bicyclists.
- Since 2009, hit and run deaths in the United States have increased an average of 7.2 percent each year.
- Per capita, New Mexico, Louisiana and Florida have the highest rate of fatal hit and run crashes. New Hampshire, Maine, and Minnesota have the lowest rates.
Unfortunately, hit and run accidents are common in Las Vegas. Last month, the news reported that a Las Vegas driver died in a crash while fleeing a hit and run accident. That same month, the news also reported that a driver fled the scene after killing a motorcyclist. Do you know your duties after an accident in Nevada? Below we will go over Nevada’s hit and run laws. For additional information, see our article Dos and Don’ts After a Hit and Run Accident.
Click to contact our personal injury lawyers today
What Are Nevada’s Hit and Run Laws?
Nevada drivers have numerous legal obligations after a car accident. Failure to abide by these laws can result in criminal consequences. Below are the applicable laws.
Nevada Revised Statute 484E.010
Nevada Revised Statute (NRS) 484E.010 requires drivers to stop at the scene of crash involving death or personal injury. NRS 484E.010 provides in part:
1. The driver of any vehicle involved in a crash on a highway or on premises to which the public has access resulting in bodily injury to or the death of a person shall immediately stop his or her vehicle at the scene of the crash or as close thereto as possible, and shall forthwith return to and in every event shall remain at the scene of the crash until the driver has fulfilled the requirements of NRS 484E.030.
2. Every such stop must be made without obstructing traffic more than is necessary.
A person failing to comply with subsection 1 is guilty of a felony.
If a hit and run driver injures you, you should speak with an experienced personal injury lawyer. The team at Anthem Injury Lawyers will work aggressively to protect your rights and help you receive maximum compensation. Our experience gives you the best opportunity to win your Las Vegas hit and run case. Contact us today at (702) 857-6000 to make an appointment for a free consultation.
Nevada Revised Statute 484E.020
NRS 484E.020 requires a driver to stop at the scene of a crash involving damage to vehicle or property. The driver must move the vehicle under certain circumstances. NRS 484E.020 provides in part:
- The driver of any vehicle involved in a crash resulting only in damage to a vehicle or other property which is driven or attended by any person shall:
1. Immediately stop his or her vehicle at the scene of the crash.
2. If the driver’s vehicle is creating a hazard or obstructing traffic and can be moved safely, move the vehicle out of the traffic lanes of the roadway. The vehicle should be moved to a safe location that does not create a hazard or obstruct traffic.
Nevada Revised Statute 484E.030
NRS 484E.030 requires a driver to give information and render aid. Under NRS 484E.030, the driver of any vehicle involved in a crash resulting in injury, death, or damage shall do the following:
- Give his or her name, address, and the registration number of the vehicle the driver is driving.
- Exhibit his or her license to operate a motor vehicle.
- Give such information to any police officer at the scene of the crash or who is investigating the crash.
- Upon request, manually surrender such license to any police officer at the scene of the crash or who is investigating the crash.
- Render to any person injured in such crash reasonable assistance.
- If no police officer is present, the driver of any vehicle involved in such crash shall report such crash to the police.
What Are the Reporting Requirements?
If a police officer is present at the crash and files a valid accident report, the parties do not have to file a report. If no police officer is present, the driver(s) have 10 days from the date of the accident to report the crash. The report to the police must include the following:
- An estimate of repairs or a statement of the total loss.
- Name and address of the insurance company providing coverage to each person involved in the crash.
- Number of each policy.
- Dates on which the coverage begins and ends.
If you or a loved one are injured by another driver, you should speak with an experienced personal injury lawyer. A personal injury lawyer can help you protect your rights. The Las Vegas car accident legal team at Anthem Injury Lawyers is experienced at handling all types of complex issues. This includes spinal cord injuries, traumatic brain injuries, and wrongful death. You’ll want to contact our Las Vegas lawyers to discuss your case because we know how to win for you. Contact us today at (702) 857-6000 for a free consultation.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
EXPERIENCED LAS VEGAS PERSONAL INJURY LAWYERS
We hope you stay safe on the roads. If a hit and run driver injures you or a loved one, you should speak with an experienced personal injury lawyer. A personal injury lawyer will work aggressively to protect your rights and help you receive maximum compensation. Some well-meaning folks may advise you that lawyers are expensive and maybe you can solve your Las Vegas car accident case yourself. You can benefit from our years of experience representing Las Vegas area clients in auto accidents. We only get paid when you win, so you can be confident about working with our experienced legal team.
Award-winning personal injury law firm Anthem Injury Lawyers is a team of experienced, dedicated personal injury lawyers and case managers based in Henderson, Nevada. With over 25 years of experience, Anthem Injury Lawyers specializes in personal injury claims, including Las Vegas area hit and run car accidents. Contact us today at (702) 857-6000 to make an appointment for a free consultation.
Call or text (702) 857-6000 or complete a Free Case Evaluation form