Do You Know Nevada’s Impaired Driving Laws?

Schedule a Free Consultation
TODAY

    Do You Know Nevada's Impaired Driving Laws
    December 1 2021

    This month a Las Vegas driver was reportedly arrested on a DUI charge in a deadly pedestrian hit-and-run in central valley. Driving under the influence is dangerous and the results can be fatal. As the holidays approach, you may be attending more activities where drinking is involved. Do you know Nevada’s impaired driving laws? Specifically those involving alcohol. Read on as we provide Nevada’s impaired driving laws involving alcohol.

    We hope the below information helps you make smart choices on the road. If an impaired driver injures you, contact an experienced personal injury lawyer. A personal injury lawyer will help to protect your rights and ensure you receive maximum compensation.

    As a Las Vegas accident victim, you don’t want to fight alone against insurance companies. They do not have your best interests in mind. Anthem Injury Lawyers has a dedicated team of lawyers and staff ready to help you with your personal injury case. Insurance companies and other parties are not interested in helping you receive what you should as a victim in a Las Vegas drunk driving accident. You need an experienced car accident lawyer to put you in the best position to get the compensation you deserve as an accident victim. Our lawyers have over 25 years of experience winning top compensation for Las Vegas car accident victims. This translates to a superior track record of success for our clients.

    Don’t wait to contact our Las Vegas car accident lawyers. Time is of the essence when pursuing compensation in car accident cases. Contact Anthem Injury Lawyers today at (702) 857-6000 to make an appointment for a free consultation.

    Nevada Revised Statute 484C.110

    Under Nevada Revised Statute (NRS) 484C.110, it is unlawful for a person to operate a motor vehicle while impaired by alcohol, or with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.08% or higher. NRS 484C.110(1) provides the following in part:

    1. It is unlawful for any person who:

    (a) Is under the influence of intoxicating liquor;

    (b) Has a concentration of alcohol of 0.08 or more in his or her blood or breath; or

    (c) Is found by measurement within 2 hours after driving or being in actual physical control of a vehicle to have a concentration of alcohol of 0.08 or more in his or her blood or breath,

    to drive or be in actual physical control of a vehicle on a highway or on premises to which the public has access.

    The law firm of Anthem Injury Lawyers understands that even the most cautious driver can be injured in a car accident. If another driver has injured you, it’s important that you seek experienced legal representation. Our car accident lawyers serve the Las Vegas area with the knowledge and expertise to help you gain maximum compensation for your injuries. Contact Anthem Injury Lawyers today at (702) 857-6000 to make an appointment for a free consultation.

    Nevada Revised Statute 484C.120

    NRS 484C.120 applies to the operation of commercial motor vehicles. Did you know that commercial drivers are held to a stricter alcohol impaired driving standard than non-commercial drivers? Under NRS 484C.120, it is unlawful to operate a commercial motor vehicle while impaired by alcohol, or with a BAC of 0.04% or higher. NRS 484C.120(1) provides the following:

    1. It is unlawful for any person who:

    (a) Is under the influence of intoxicating liquor;

    (b) Has a concentration of alcohol of 0.04 or more but less than 0.08 in his or her blood or breath; or

    (c) Is found by measurement within 2 hours after driving or being in actual physical control of a commercial motor vehicle to have a concentration of alcohol of 0.04 or more but less than 0.08 in his or her blood or breath,

    to drive or be in actual physical control of a commercial motor vehicle on a highway or on premises to which the public has access.

    If an impaired driver injures you, contact an experienced personal injury lawyer. The experienced team at Anthem Injury Lawyers will work aggressively to protect your rights and help you receive maximum compensation. We work on a contingency basis, so you don’t have to worry about upfront fees. Our law office is in Henderson, Nevada, and we work with clients in Las Vegas and vicinity. Contact us today at (702) 857-6000 to make an appointment for a free consultation.

    Nevada Revised Statute 483.462

    If you are under 21 years of age consuming alcohol is illegal. Did you know that the DUI standard is much stricter for drivers under 21 years of age? In Nevada, it is illegal for drivers under 21 years of age to drive in Nevada with a BAC of .02 or higher. If you have a teen, you should talk to them about underage DUI. For tips, see Have You Talked to Your Teen About Underage DUI? NRS 483.462(1) provides the following:

    1. A peace officer who has received the result of a test given pursuant to NRS 484C.150 or 484C.160 which indicates that a person less than 21 years of age to whom the test was given had a concentration of alcohol of 0.02 or more but less than 0.10 in his or her blood or breath shall prepare a written certificate indicating whether the peace officer:

    (a) Had reasonable grounds to believe that the person was driving under the influence of alcohol;

    (b) Served an order of suspension on the person pursuant to subsection 2; and

    (c) Issued the person a temporary license pursuant to subsection 2.

    EXPERIENCED LAS VEGAS PERSONAL INJURY LAWYERS

    We hope the above information helps you understand Nevada’s impaired driving laws. If an impaired driver injures you or a loved one, you should speak with an experienced personal injury lawyer. Some people wonder why they need a personal injury lawyer to help them. A personal injury lawyer will work aggressively to protect your rights and help you receive maximum compensation for your injuries.

    Award-winning law firm Anthem Injury Lawyers is a team of experienced and dedicated personal injury lawyers. We are based in Henderson, Nevada, and serve clients throughout the Las Vegas area. When we say we offer personal injury law experience, we mean over 25 years of experience. This is the combination of knowledge and expertise you need to win significant compensation as a victim in a Las Vegas area car accident. Our decades of experience, our expertise, plus our deep familiarity with all aspects of Nevada law, give you a powerful advantage. Plus, you won’t have to worry about affordability—we don’t get paid unless we win your Las Vegas car accident case.

    While you need to choose a Las Vegas car accident lawyer promptly, we recommend you do so with care. Your choice of a car accident lawyer is one of the most consequential decisions you will ever make. If you want the best car accident attorneys in Las Vegas fighting for you, you need to speak with Anthem Injury Lawyers. Tell us the details about your car accident case then have our proven Las Vegas car accident attorneys put you in the best position to win significant compensation. Contact Anthem Injury Lawyers today at (702) 857-6000 to make an appointment for a free consultation.

    Back to Main Page

    Free Consultation

      Related Articles

      Do You Know How to Reduce Driving Stress?
      January 21 2022

      Do You Know How to

      The past few years have brought unexpected
      Our Top Tips To Avoid a Dog Bite
      January 19 2022

      Our Top Tips To Avoid

      Last month, a Las Vegas delivery driver
      Have You Talked To Your Kids About Pedestrian and Bicycle Safety
      January 17 2022

      Have You Talked To Your

      Clark County Schools have taken a five