Teen Driver Safety
It’s summertime and even with COVID-19 restrictions, most teenagers have more freedom. More freedom, means more time teens spend driving on the roads. According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, 3,255 teen drivers ages 15 to 19 years old were involved in fatal motor vehicle crashes in 2017. Teen driver safety is everyone’s responsibility. Below we will discuss tips to keep your teen driver safe.
We hope these tips help you and your teen stay safe on the roads. If your teen is injured in an accident anywhere in Nevada, seek medical help immediately. Once medical care is provided, contact Anthem Injury Lawyers. Our team has experience working with crashes all over Clark County. Contact us today at (702) 857-6000 to make an appointment for a free consultation.
For a free legal consultation, call (702) 857-6000
Nevada Teen Driving Laws
The Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) has an entire page on Nevada Teen Driving. Consult the Nevada DMV for the most up-to-date laws. Help your teen stay safe by ensuring he/she complies with all applicable laws.
Any applicant under 18 applying for an instruction permit, driver’s license, or driver authorization card must meet Nevada’s minimum school attendance requirements.
Classroom Driver Education
All beginning drivers under 18 must complete a classroom driver education course. A teen can enroll at 15. Drivers education helps and can reduce the likelihood of a teen engaging in dangerous driving behavior.
Young drivers can obtain an instruction permit at age 15 and a half.
Young drivers are required to complete 50 hours of behind-the-wheel experience. Ten of those hours must be in darkness. The teen driver must have a licensed driver seated next to him/her at all times. The licensed driver must be 21 or older and licensed for at least one year.
Except for immediate family members, young drivers may not transport any passenger under 18 years of age. This restriction is for the first six months after the DMV issues the license.
Statewide Driving Curfew
A driver under 18 may not drive between the hours of 10 p.m. and 5 a.m. An exception exists for a driver traveling to or from a scheduled event. This may include school events or work. Law enforcement may ask for evidence of the event.
Nevada has a .02 blood alcohol limit for drivers under 21 years of age. Drivers can also be arrested for any detectable amount of a controlled or prohibited substance.
Minor driver licenses can be suspended for the same reasons as adult licenses. A minor driver license may also be suspended for:
- Non-driving alcohol/drug convictions
- Firearms violations
- Habitual truancy
Parental Rights and Responsibilities
Parents/guardians are held responsible following a citation or accident if they knowingly and willfully allow an underage driver to:
- Drive without a license
- Drive in violation of any of the minor driver laws
The courts hold parents/guardians responsible in such a situation for any fines and/or restitution imposed.
Make sure your teen understands and complies with the law. Parental involvement significantly helps with teen driver safety. In a study by State Farm and Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia, teens who say their parents set rules and monitor their activities in a helpful, supportive way are:
- Half as likely to be in a crash
- 71 percent less likely to drive intoxicated
This is compared to teens who describe their parents as less involved. Parents play an important role in teen driver safety. Encourage your teen to comply with the law and practice safe driving.
Driving for Teens with Special Needs
Many teens with special needs are able to drive. Needs and adaptations vary by teen. A teen may have characteristics that place them at risk for unsafe driving behaviors. He/she may also have characteristics that encourage safer driving behaviors.
The Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia recommends parents answer the following questions before their child with special needs starts driver education:
- Do you feel your child consistently demonstrates good judgment and maturity at school, around peers, and at home?
- Is your child receptive to constructive criticism and instruction?
- Does your child demonstrate rules of the road knowledge and other skills taught in driver education classes? If not, does your child need specialized instruction or a driving assessment?
- Is your child agreeable to practicing driving with a skilled adult prior to driving independently? If so, is there an adult willing and able to serve in this important role?
- Are there any medical or behavioral conditions that may prevent your child from driving safely? This can include seizures.
- Are there medical interventions that may be needed to ensure safe driving behaviors?
Click to contact our personal injury lawyers today
Dangers for Teen Drivers
According to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), motor vehicle crashes are the leading cause of death for U.S. teens. The risk of motor vehicle crashes is higher among teens aged 16-19 than among any other age group.
The Nevada DMV provides a Parents Supervised Driving Guide to help parents with teen driver safety. The guide goes over the biggest danger areas for teens including:
- Seat belts
- Drugs and alcohol
- Distracted Driving
- Night Driving
All of these dangers are preventable or practice areas a parent can work on with their teen. A parent plays a huge role in teen driver safety. Stay engaged in your teen driver’s development. Utilize safe driving resources to encourage your teen to drive safely.
If a teen driver injures you or a loved one, consult with an experienced accident lawyer. Anthem Injury Lawyers are an experienced team of personal injury lawyers. We are located in Henderson and handle personal injury cases all over the Las Vegas area including North Las Vegas, Henderson, and Summerlin. Contact us today at (702) 857-6000 to make an appointment for a free consultation.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
Teen Driver Safety Agreement
Parents play a major role in teen driver safety. Before your teen begins driving, have clear expectations and guidelines. The CDC recommends a Parent-Teen Driving Agreement. The Driving Agreement outlines your expectations for your teen while driving. It includes restrictions and penalties for violations of the Driving Agreement. Portions of the agreement are provided below.
Obey the Rules of the Road
Have your teen agree to obey the rules of the road including:
- Always wear a seatbelt.
- Ensure all passengers always wear a seatbelt.
- Obey all traffic signals, signs, and road markings.
- Never exceed the speed limit.
- Drive with caution.
- Never use the car to race or try to impress others.
- Do not give rides to hitchhikers or strangers.
Stay Focused on Driving
Ensure your teen understands how to stay focused on driving by observing the following:
- Never text and drive. Texting includes writing, reading, and sending messages.
- Do not talk on a cell phone while driving. This includes hands free devices and speakerphones.
- Drive with both hands on the wheel.
- Never eat or drink while driving.
- Drive only when alert.
- Only drive when in emotional control.
- Do not use headphones or earbuds while driving.
- An impaired driver should call their parents or a trusted adult for a ride home. Impaired can mean anything that interferes with the driver’s ability to safely drive.
Avoid Drugs and Alcohol
Your teen should always avoid drugs and alcohol, especially while driving. Your teen should agree to the following:
- Never allow alcohol or illegal drugs in the car.
- Do not drive while under the influence of drugs or alcohol.
- Do not ride in a car with a driver who is under the influence of drugs or alcohol.
Be a Responsible Driver
Even when following all of the tips we’ve shared, accidents can still happen. Stay engaged in your teen’s driving. Ensure your teen understands he/she must be a responsible driver. If he or she should become the victim in an accident through no fault of their own, it’s good to know our Las Vegas car accident lawyers are available to help them get maximum compensation for their injuries. Set up an appointment for a free case analysis by calling us now: (702) 857-6000.
Your teen can drive responsibly by doing the following:
- Drive only with permission to use the car.
- Do not let anyone drive the car without permission.
- Ask for parental permission to drive someone else’s car.
- Pay for all traffic citations and parking tickets.
- Contribute to the costs of gasoline, maintenance, and insurance.
Continue to work with your teen on safe driving practices after they obtain their license. Even the safest driver can be involved in an accident. Ensure your teen knows what to do if an accident occurs.
Experienced Las Vegas Accident Lawyers
Safe driving is everyone’s priority. If you are injured in a
n accident that is not your fault, contact the experienced team at Anthem Injury Lawyers. Based in Henderson, Nevada, we work with clients all over the Las Vegas area. Should you need us to, we can come to you.
With over 25 years of experience, the team at Anthem Injury Lawyers specializes in personal injury claims, with years of experience successfully representing clients in car accident cases. Contact us today at (702) 857-6000 to make an appointment for a free consultation.
Call or text (702) 857-6000 or complete a Free Case Evaluation form